News Article

Braham, MN, November 21, 2018 – East Central Minnesota Educational Cable Cooperative (ECMECC) along with its partners at the Southwest West Central Service Cooperative (SWWC) and three school districts (Red Lake County Central, Red Lake Falls and Herman Norcross) in the Northwest Links (NWLinks) region are pleased to announced they have been awarded $249,027 in the “Distance Learning and Telemedicine Grant Program” administered by the USDA and the Rural Utilities Service. This Rural Development investment will be used to purchase and install interactive video distance learning telecommunications equipment.

ECMECC and their partners will provide critically needed learning opportunities focused on workforce readiness, world language and college credit courses to secondary students in 12 rural East Central Minnesota school districts, 13 rural districts in Southwest Minnesota and three rural districts (Red Lake County Central, Red Lake Falls and Herman Norcross) in Northwest Minnesota. Additionally, students in 37 elementary, middle and high schools through Southwest Minnesota will have access to video technology to provide experiential learning, student support services and other collaborative activities benefitting 125,355 people at all locations.

ECMECC is a consortium of 14 school districts and a Technical College providing technology services and utilizing two-way interactive television to preserve, enhance, and expand learning opportunities: examine and implement appropriate alternative deliveries of education and optimize operational processes through maximization of available and emerging technology in East Central Minnesota. This collaborative and agile process includes the entire educational communities of its member districts. They have providing distance learning and technology services for over 30 years and their motto is: Making Great Things Happen for Students. ECMECC member districts include: Braham, Cambridge-Isanti, Chisago Lakes, East Central, Elk River, Hinckley-Finlayson, Milaca, Mora, North Branch, Ogilvie, Pine City, Princeton, Rush City,

St. Francis and Pine Technical and Community College. SWWC serves 18 counties in Southwest and West Central MN and is dedicated to providing unparalleled education and administrative services, innovative solutions and uncompromising support to their members and the communities they serve with integrity, respect and responsive action.


If you would like more information about this topic, please contact Marc Johnson at 320-396-5211 or email at .

Author: Tom Nelson   E-Mail: